Getting Curried Away

Sorry about the title pun, I promised Abbie that in this post I’d include one of her two puns on this topic. While you may have had to endure this joke just once, I had to endure it at least 600 times over the course of an hour while I prepared this for dinner. I’ll admit, the first time I heard it I giggled. The 600th time I heard it? I facepalmed. No lies.

If you hadn’t guessed by now, this will be all about me making curry for dinner on a rainy night where we had nothing to do. I discovered something that night: curry is surprisingly boring to make. I expected adventure, excitement, maybe even danger around any corner. Surprisingly none of these things happened.

This is how I made curry. Literally these four ingredients plus some flour to thicken it up. Click into the description for more details.
This is how I made curry. Literally boil these four ingredients plus some flour to thicken it up.

What was supposed to be a grand adventure, making something I thought was going to be hard just… wasn’t. It’s not just easy to make, it’s also quite boring; so boring in fact that I’ve been kicking around the idea of adding a few dragons into this post, just to make it more interesting… Spice it up, if you will. Sorry. I’m done, I promise.

Also, I was just informed that dragons are completely out of the question for this post, making me very sad. Since dragons are out of the question (as I typed this Abbie emphasized her veto on dragons.) I guess we’re just going to have to stick to the food. This, in case you’ve forgotten in the last 15 seconds, is incredibly simple and incredibly boring.

Everything went fairly smoothly except for the fact that I was afraid of the curry. This is mostly due to the fact that it’s a boiled liquid that calls for flour. I’m not ever going to forget what happened with the potato and leek soup. This resulted in each ingredient being added with fear and caution. No risks were taken. Which I feel is almost a public service announcement: Don’t add flour to boiling things without immediately stirring it. It may seem like common sense, but let’s be honest; what public service announcement isn’t?

That all being said though, and I cannot stress this enough, this is absolutely delicious. Curry is, without a doubt, one of my Top 5 favorite meals. It’s fast. It’s easy. It goes well with just about everything. In this particular instance I coupled it with sauteed bell peppers (cut into strips), mushrooms (diced) and a wishful thought of garlic served atop a hefty spoonful of jasmine rice (I explained my obsession with jasmine rice, right?). By the by, know how I mentioned fast? This whole meal took me about half an hour to make. So the next time you’re in a hurry, just make some curry.

2 comments

  1. Public service announcements are indeed common sense. But so are consumer safety warnings on EVERYTHING! Nancy’s simple cure for people with no common sense is to remove all such safety warnings. The problem takes care of itself.

    Like

Leave a Reply

